Reflections on Easter Celebration with grandchildren

I have included a video to give you a better idea of the Egg War game. And, as I stated before, everyone participated in the egg wars, from 3 to 65 years old.

In addition, we had a more traditional Easter Egg Hunt and Bunny Hop contest. My six grandchildren and a great-niece and great-nephew all enjoyed the festivities. However, they weren’t as interested in the games as they were in just “hanging out” together.

The kids don’t get to see each other that often and their reaction to the party reminded me of what they taught me years ago…they just need time together; that is their greatest enjoyment. So later on, when everyone else was packing up and getting ready to leave, the kids’ main objective was to figure out how they could all go home with at least one of their cousins for the night.

My advice when planning time with your grandchildren is to include at least one cousin that they do not get to see very often. Then simply be flexible with any plans you have made and make sure there is ample time to just “hang out” with each other.

Gramma Mickie

Leave a comment